Common Questions

Why can't I see my new pages in my listings widget?

The page containing your listing widget was cached before you added your new pages in order to improve performance and you are looking at this cached version.

When edits are made to a page, we expire that page from the cache so that your changes are effective immediately. Unfortunately this does not extend to also removing all the pages with listings that include that page from the cache.

However, you can go and edit these listings pages manually which will expire them from the cache and result in your new pages being shown in the listing on this page.

 

Why can't I see changes to my navigation?

The pages containing your navigation were cached before you made your changes in order to improve performance and you are looking at these cached versions.

However, you can force an entire site re-cache by going back into the main Site Settings page and clicking Save, resulting in your new menu changes being displayed.

 

Why does the site look different to other users?

or

Why does the site look different on my alternate domain?

This is typically due to the different in behaviour for logged in and non-logged in users.

Pages are cached to improve the performance of your site.  When you are logged into the administration system, in order for you to be able to see the effect of the changes you have made, you bypass these cached pages.

You may see changes to the contents of listing and navigation when you are logged in, but you will not if you log out.

In order to resolve this issue, you can force an entire site re-cache by going into the main Site Settings page and clicking save resulting in your changes being available too non-logged in users.

 

Why can't I edit the site in an old version of Firefox?

There are a few issues with editing the site in very old version of Firefox.  The solution is to either upgrade to the latest version or consider using Chrome.  CONNECT machines are set to auto-update so are unlikely to be an issue.

 

Why can't people edit their profile pages?

When a site editor creates a person profile page and adds an SSO ID to it, in order to allow non-editor uses to change the page the WYSIWYG editor must also be set to use filtered HTML.

powered by Oxford Mosaic