Sharing content

You can share content from your site to make it usable by other Mosaic sites.

The administrators of the site that owns the content specify which site(s) are able to use the shared content.

The administrators of the consuming site(s) can choose whether or not to display the shared content on their site. Adminstrators of consuming sites can also create copies of pages shared with their site.

Types of content that can be shared between sites

Examples of shared content

When content is shared from one site to another, it will be rendered on the consuming site using the site's colour and font theme.

  • A shared page viewed on its source site and a consuming site:
    Content on its owning site

    Shared content on its owning (source) site

     

    Shared content on a consuming site

    Shared content rendered on the consuming site using its site theme

Steps 1, 2 and 3 only need to be completed once for each site you want share content with

 
  1. Select sites that can use your content. To set up content sharing, select the site(s) that will be able to use content from your site in the input field on the Content Sharing tab. Select the sites that can use your content from the dropdown list or by typing the name of a site into the input field.
    Select sites to share content with by typing the site name
  2. Choose to let consuming sites make copies of shared content. Tick the 'Allow another site to make copies of shared content' checkbox to let consuming sites make copies of pages and reusable content items that you make available to them. Once copied, consuming sites can edit the newly-created versions of the content
    let other sites make copies of content you have shared with them
  3. Save the Site Settings
  4. Select the content that will be shared. Once sites have been selected to be able to use content from your site, a checkbox (1) will be visible on the Details tab in each page's edit mode. This provides you with the option to make the content available to sites you have selected on the Content sharing tab in Site Settings.
    Content sharing checkbox

When a site has made its content available to use on another site, a record of the shared content will appear on the consuming site's Manage Content > Shared Content screen (screenshot below).

shared content options on a site consuming other sites' content

To use shared content on your site:

  1. Go to Manage Content > Shared Content screen
  2. Find the content you want to use from the list
  3. Click 'Use shared content'

When you have successfully added shared content to your site, a record for it will appear in your site's Manage Content area:

  • records for added pages are visible in your site's Manage Content > Content screen
  • records for added reusable content are visible in your site's Manage Content > Reusable Content screen

Once added to a consuming site, shared content can be displayed just like any other page or reusable content item on your site: for example, it can be referenced in listing widgets; text links; navigation links.

 

Can't add shared content to your site?

See the help information for making shared content work with your site's content types and taxonomies

 

Shared content and Content Sub-types

To add a page shared with your site, the consuming site must possess the same content sub-type that the shared page belongs to. If the sub-type is not on the consuming site, a message will be displayed in place of the 'Add to site' button on the Shared content screen.

In the example below, the 'Press release' sub-type is not present on the consuming site so the 'Announcement about mosaic making' content has been flagged as not usable. To use the piece of shared content, the site owner/administrator needs go to Site Settings > Content types and add 'Press release' as a sub-type of the 'Article' content type. Once this is done, the Shared content screen can be reloaded and the 'Add to site' button will appear.

shared content management - content subtype not present on consuming site

Shared content and Taxonomies

If a piece of shared content has a taxonomy term associated with it, and the consuming site wants the content to be discoverable using the taxonomy term (e.g. using taxonomy filters above a filtered listing), the consuming site must include the taxonomy the term belongs to. Example: the shared 'Mosaic making class' in the screenshot above possess the taxonomy term 'All ages', which belongs to the taxonomy 'Age group'. In order for the 'All ages' term to be used on the consuming site, the taxonomy 'Age group' must be created on it. Once this is done and the content is added to the consuming site, the term 'All ages' will automatically be added to the 'Age group' taxonomy.

The taxonomy must be created on the consuming site before the shared content is added to the site for this to work.

To set up taxonomy sharing:

  • create the taxonomy
  • go to Manage Content > Shared content
  • add the shared content to the site (click 'Add to site')

To set up taxonomy sharing when the shared content is already being used on the consuming site:

  • create the taxonomy
  • go to Manage Content > Shared content
  • remove the shared content from the site (click 'Remove from site')
  • re-add the shared content to the site (click 'Add to site')

Once shared content has been added to the consuming site. The content will appear in the Content screen in Manage Content. For comparison, the screenshot below displays information about a shared profile page under the information about a profile page which belongs to the site.

Shared content information on the Content screen

When shared content is displayed in the Content list, the 'Shared from' information displays the name of the owning site, the operations buttons do not display, and a 'Contact information' is displayed.

Clicking the 'Contact information' button opens a modal to display information about the owning site and user who last updated the content.

Shared content contact information modal
  1. Go to Manage Content > Shared Content screen
  2. Find the content you want to remove in the Shared Content table
    shared content management - remove content
  3. Click 'Remove from site'

Content copying needs to be allowed by the site that owns the original content

The site that owns the original content needs to allow consuming sites to make copies of content that is made available for them to use. See the help text for making your content available for other sites to use

 

When a site has made its content available to use on another site, a record of the shared content will appear on the consuming site's Manage Content > Shared Content screen (screenshot below).

shared content options on a site consuming other sites' content

To copy shared content to your site:

  1. Go to Manage Content > Shared Content screen
  2. Find the content you want to use from the list
  3. Click 'Copy to site'

When you have successfully copied shared content to your site, a record for it will appear in your site's Manage Content area:

  • records for added pages are visible in your site's Manage Content > Content screen
  • records for added reusable content are visible in your site's Manage Content > Reusable Content screen

Once copied to your site, you can edit and use the page or reusable content item just like any other on your site.

 

Can't copy content to your site?

See the help information for making shared content work with your site's content types and taxonomies